Dyer County School Board honors Holice Powell authors

Thursday, September 6, 2012
Vanessa Cain

The Dyer County School Board honored several award-winning authors from Holice Powell at its regular meeting on Tuesday, Sept 4. The students earned seven out eight winning spots in WLJT's PBS Go Kids! writing contest in March. Students competed against schools all across West Tennessee. At the meeting, children read their books and shared their illustrations on screens in the boardroom. Also at the meeting, newly-elected school board representative Jeremy Gatlin was sworn in by Dyer County Mayor Richard Hill and Bruce Kerr was honored for his service as Chairman of the board as former Vice-Chairman Mike McLaughlin rotates into the leadership position.