R.I.D. Red Ribbon Award Presentation

Thursday, January 3, 2013
Vanessa Cain

The Remove Intoxicated Drivers Red Ribbon Campaign has begun, with representatives of area law enforcement tying the colorful ribbons to the antennas of their patrol cars as a reminder of the dangers of driving under the influence. On Thursday, Dec. 13, R.I.D. West Tennessee Director Tammy Hipps honored law enforcement personnel, local citizens and community organizations with the Dyer County R.I.D. Red Ribbon Awards. The presentation took place in the city's municipal courtroom. At the event, Lt. Billy Williams of the Dyersburg Police Department was named Law Enforcement Officer of the Year. The traditional award has been now been renamed the Freeman Dudley Memorial Award. Dudley's family was on hand for honor. Others honored include: * Citizenship Award -- Doug Roberson of the Tennessee Highway Patrol * Leadership Award -- Danny Petrie of the Dyer County Sheriff's Department * Leadership Award -- 911 Communications and Emergency Operations, accepted by Cathy Cavness * Leadership Award -- Chris Clements of the Dyersburg Police Department * Leadership Award -- Robert Harrison of the Newbern Police Department * Outstanding Media Awareness Award -- Vanessa Cain of the State Gazette