MedSouth
Login | Register
Fair ~ 36°F  
[Dyersburg State Gazette]
Dyersburg, Tennessee ~ Friday, November 21, 2008
Print Email link Respond to editor Read comments (3)

Dyer County Historical Society Web site defaced

Monday, February 18, 2008
(Photo)
The Dyer County Historical Society's Web site was hacked over the weekend and defaced with an Islamic screed, at top, before it was restored on Saturday.
[Click to enlarge]
The Dyer County Historical Society's Web site was hacked sometime overnight Friday, replacing local scenes with an Islamic posting.

But quick thinking by amateur historian Glen Barr saved the information before the site was restored late Saturday.

Society president Danny Walden said he was frustrated the site was the subject of an attack.

(Photo)
"I am disappointed that the effort of so many local volunteers to establish and maintain the Dyer County Historical Society should be targeted by someone trying to disrupt our Web site," said Walden. "Much like the recent vandalism that was done in the East Court Cemetery, this damage can be repaired. This may slow us, but only a little bit. Efforts by hackers will not deter us from continuing to promote Dyer County to the citizens of the world."

The local takeover was evidently a spillover from attacks last week on European Web sites on the two-year anniversary of the publications of cartoons that featured Mohammed. The same image - the Islamic sword, the religion's traditional green color, and the phrase "There is no god but one god and his name is Allah" in Arabic.

Barr said he had tracked the hacking to a host server in Alabama.

Barr had copied the source code for the site and re-posted the information during the outage on his personal site, www.glenbar.net.


Comments
Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. If you feel that a comment is offensive, please Login or Create an account first, and then you will be able to flag a comment as objectionable.

Good site and links. Thanks!

-- Posted by gb on Tue, Feb 19, 2008, at 9:39 AM

That's interesting. The image is still here:

http://www.pelican360data.com/fenr.JPG

-- Posted by gb on Mon, Feb 18, 2008, at 2:10 PM

The ip of the host domain (which is also hacked) actually shows the server operated by FortressITX located in Clifton, NJ (http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=69.72.179.244&token=23a011c618913c1f01734f890e3ea019). The info on Mr. Barr's site is domain registration data, which can be falsified easily.

-- Posted by hugh44 on Mon, Feb 18, 2008, at 1:18 PM


Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration. If you already have an account on this site, enter your username and password below. Otherwise, click here to register.

Username:

Password:  (Forgot your password?)

Your comments:
Please be respectful of others and try to stay on topic.

Mailing list
Enter your email address to join our daily headline mailing list: