No primaries for local offices in 2014 elections

Sunday, December 8, 2013

The Dyer County Election Commission has announced there will not be any primaries held for local offices in next year's elections.

Dyer County Election Administrator Anita Fowlkes stated both the Dyer County Republican and Democratic parties were sent letters asking if they intended to hold primaries for any of the upcoming elections in 2014. Fowlkes said they had until Nov. 22 to respond back in writing if they intended to do so. Dyer County Republican Party Chair Jim Horner sent a letter to the commission stating the executive committee of the Dyer County Republican Party decided their would not be any local primaries in 2014. Fowlkes stated the Democratic Party did not respond to the request and thus no primaries will be held on their behalf either.

The Republican Party stated they also held a caucus and nominated two people to run as Republicans in the Aug. 7, 2014, county election.

Fowlkes said the election commission office is already making preparations for next year's elections.

"Our office is gearing up for a busy year," said Fowlkes. "We are already preparing petition packets and will have them ready for the Jan. 3 pick-up date."

Petitions for the August elections will be available on Jan. 3 and must be turned in by the qualifying deadline of noon on April 3. The qualify deadline for the November election is May 23 at noon.

2014 Elections in Dyer County


Federal primary elections: US senator, and US congressman

State primary elections: Tennessee governor, Tennessee representative, and Tennessee senator

County general elections -- Dyer County mayor, Dyer County Trustee, Dyer County district attorney, Dyer County sheriff, Dyer County public defender, Dyer County county clerk, Dyer County circuit court clerk, Dyer County register of deeds, Dyer County superintendent of roads, Dyer County commissioners, a portion of the Dyer County school board, Dyer County constables, Dyer County Circuit Court judge, Dyer County Chancery Court judge, Dyer County General Sessions Court judge, and Dyersburg City judge, and two Dyersburg City School Board positions.

Also, elections will be held for five positions on the Dyer County School Board

November 2014

Federal elections- US senator, and US congressman

State elections - Tennessee governor, Tennessee representative, and Tennessee senator

City of Dyersburg elections: Dyersburg mayor, and Dyersburg aldermen

City of Newbern elections: Newbern aldermen that received the lower votes from the previous election will run again.

View 1 comment
Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. Please note that those who post comments on this website may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.
  • according to tn election laws these local politicians break the law when they hold campaign sessions inside their offices, have people sign their qualifying petitions inside the office, advertise with signs or t-shirts or any other type advertising in their offices. violations include misdemeanor charges to allowing their opponents to equal space inside the present office holders office should they violate the 'prohibited practices' which are called the 'little

    hatch act' section of the law. this section of the law has been ignored from the courthouse itself to other offices that surround the courthouse square in the last countywide election in dyer county. if violations are noted, take a picture of the violation and make ur complaint to the state attorney general or the secretary of state...or put proof on all the social media that u can find.

    -- Posted by closerlook on Sun, Dec 8, 2013, at 12:06 PM
Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: