[Masthead] T-storm in Vicinity ~ 70°F  
High: 87°F ~ Low: 69°F
Tuesday, May 24, 2016

County Election Commission sees large turnout on first day of petition pickup

Saturday, January 4, 2014

Dyer County Chancellor Tony Childress, Dyer County Sheriff Jeff Box, Bobby Turnage Sr., and Chris Young showed up at the same time on Friday to pick up their qualifying petitions from the Dyer County Election Commission. Incumbents Childress and Box picked up petitions for their respective positions. Turnage picked a petition up for constable in District H, while Young picked a petition up for Dyer County mayor. Friday was the first time that potential candidates could pick up their petitions and they have until April 3 at noon to turn them back in with the appropriate signatures.
The Dyer County Election Commission was busy on Friday with potential candidates braving subfreezing temps to pick up qualifying petitions for the upcoming August elections.

Dyer County Election Administrator Anita Fowlkes said 24 people picked up petitions on the first day they were available.

"Interest in picking up petitions for the August election has been pretty heavy today," said Fowlkes. "However, there is still plenty of time to pick them up."

Election Day is Thursday, Aug. 7, and candidates have until April 3 at noon sharp to turn in their petitions.

Fowlkes said the petitioner must turn their petition in with the name they wish to have on the ballot. Also, they must have at least 25 signatures of registered voters.

"We encourage candidates to get 50 signatures to ensure they have enough," said Fowlkes. "The signatures must be from people who are able to vote for that person in that election. In an election that is district restricted, such as a county commissioner, the voters who sign the petition must be from that district. Also, we cannot count the petitioner's signature as a viable signature on the petition to count as one of the 25."

District Attorney General Phil Bivens was among the first to pick up his petition and turned it back in to election commission officials. Fowlkes then provided him with a certified copy of his petition so he could turn it in to the Lake County Election Commission. Bivens' petition must be turned in there, as well, since his jurisdiction includes Lake County. Dyer County candidates running for the office of circuit court judge, public defender, and chancery court must do the same and vice-versa for Lake County residents.

Fowlkes says petitions will be available for pickup up until April 3, but they must be turned in with the appropriate signatures by noon of that day.

Dyer County commissioner and assistant district attorney Jim Horner speaks with Jolie Agee of the Dyer County Election Commission as he picks up his qualifying petition on Friday. Horner will vie for the seat of Dyer County mayor that will be vacated by outgoing Mayor Richard Hill.
District Attorney General Phil Bivens picks up his certified copy of his qualifying petition from Dyer County Election Administrator Anita Fowlkes on Friday. Bivens picked his petition up on Friday morning and turned it back in shortly thereafter. Bivens must submit a certified copy of his petition to the Lake County Election Commission since his district includes Lake County.
The list of people who picked up petitions on Monday are:

Phil Bivens -- District Attorney General (incumbent)

Bobby Byrum -- Dyer County Constable, District H (incumbent)

Robert Kirby - Dyer County Commissioner, District D, Position 1

Dean Dedmon -- Dyersburg Municipal Judge (incumbent)

William Mallard Jr. -- Dyer County Mayor

Larry Shawver -- Dyer County Commissioner, District A, Position 2

Benny Spain -- Dyer County Commissioner, District H, Position 1 (incumbent)

Diane Moore -- Dyer County Clerk (incumbent)

Rickie Tidwell -- Dyer County Sheriff

James Sansom -- Dyer County Constable, District A (incumbent)

James Lanier -- District Public Defender (incumbent)

Jeff Jones -- Dyer County Superintendent of Roads (incumbent)

John Byrd -- Dyer County Commissioner District D, Position 2

Alan Dunevant -- Dyer County Commissioner District D, Position 2

Tony Childress -- Chancery Court Chancellor (incumbent)

Bobby Turnage Sr. -- Dyer County Constable, District H

Chris Young -- Dyer County Mayor

Jeff Box -- Dyer County Sheriff (incumbent)

Jim Horner -- Dyer County Mayor

Jeremy Ballinger -- Dyer County Constable, District D (incumbent)

Bobby Waller -- Dyer County Constable, District G (incumbent)

Daren Hill -- Dyer County Constable, District I (incumbent)

Jason Hudson -- Dyer County General Sessions Court Judge (incumbent)

Danny Fowlkes -- Dyer County Register of Deeds (incumbent)

Aug. 7 elections in Dyer County

* Governor (Primary)

* United States Senator (Primary)

* United States House of Representatives (Primary)

* Tennessee State Senate (Primary)

* Tennessee House of Representatives (Primary)

* Executive Committee Man (Dem. and Rep.)

* Executive Committee Woman (Dem. and Rep.)

* Circuit Court Judge

* Chancellor

* General Sessions Judge

* District Attorney

* Public Defender

* County Mayor

* Trustee

* Sheriff

* County Clerk

* Circuit Court Clerk

* Register of Deeds

* Superintendent of Roads

* County Commissioners (All Districts)

* Dyer County School Board (Districts A, B, C, E, G & I)

* Dyer County Constables (All Districts)

* Dyersburg City School Board at Large Position 2

* Dyersburg City School Board Wards 2 and 4

* Dyersburg City Municipal Judge

* Newbern City Municipal Judge

Note to candidates: The State Gazette is offering candidates the opportunity to announce their candidacy for the August elections. Candidates may email their photo and a descriptive summary (250 words or less) to State Gazette Editor Jason Cannon at jcannon@stategazette.com or drop them by the State Gazette office at 294 Highway 51 Bypass in Dyersburg. The State Gazette will run the announcement once without charge in one of our daily editions.

Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. If you feel that a comment is offensive, please Login or Create an account first, and then you will be able to flag a comment as objectionable. Please also note that those who post comments on stategazette.com may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.

it would be a real enlightenment for the state gazette to have an article giving us the salaries of these elective offices.

-- Posted by closerlook on Sun, Jan 5, 2014, at 10:23 AM

I hope that everyone thinks about the criminals that have been put back on our streets since the last election. You can thank the current DA, Phil Bivens, for that, folks! He is the one that asks for a particular sentence, and the judges just agree to it. Let's vote these people out and get some real professionals in there!!!

-- Posted by hotpocket1971 on Sun, Jan 5, 2014, at 12:25 PM

I see several names that need to be shown the door starting with Make-A-Deal.

-- Posted by youknowimright on Mon, Jan 6, 2014, at 6:59 PM

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: